Gorgeous Wood Floors for Dollhouses

floor-photo

Now that the house has been totally demolished it’s time to start on the foundation. I absolutely love wood floors so of course the dollhouse had to have one! Here’s a list of materials that you will need for this project…

  • Craft sticks or Popsicle sticks
  • Safety goggles
  • Dust mask
  • X-Acto knife or garden pruners
  • 60-200 grit sandpaper
  • sanding block
  • Craft glue ( I used Beacon 3 in 1 )
  • wood glue
  • foam board or 1/8″ plywood for the base
  • Minwax wood filler
  • Paper towels
  • pallet knife
  • nail
  • hammer
  • Bees Wax ( I used Three Beautiful Bees Beeswax Polish)

This was probably the most tedious and time consuming part of the project, but I embraced the details! If you are trying to go for a more realistic effect, then don’t skip out on this part. When selecting each “plank” make sure that they are level and flat. I found out the hard way when I glued a few down and then had to spend an eternity sanding them down. Ugh!

Measure out the space of your room and cut your foam board or plywood to fit.20170111_21485320170111_223225

Inlay your base and then the real fun begins. Cut the rounded edges of each stick using your blade or pruners and lay them out. (Be sure to wear your safety goggles. The last thing you want is a piece of wood flung in your eye)! Since each “plank” is different, I used a number/letter system on each row just in case one of my kiddos, hubby or I (most likely the latter) should bump into it.

20170112_003014

Many, many hours (and a few glasses of wine) later.

The small pieces on the end were the tips that I cut off each stick. I like to use every piece available. Once you have your floor in place the way you want, it’s time to glue. This is where the labeling system came in handy. I lifted one row and accidentally bumped the rows above and was able to put them back without the headache of wondering where each one went. I used Beacon 3 in 1 craft glue. It has a quick grip which was great because I didn’t have to use a weight to clamp them down to the foam board. I did experience a slight warp in the board from the moisture. I got some advice from an awesome miniature group on Facebook, which was to spray a light coat of sealant on both sides prior to gluing to prevent the warp. I let the floor set overnight before filling in the cracks.

20170112_232836

Using the pallet knife, spread the wood filler over the surface and let set for the recommended amount of time. Using the roughest grit sandpaper (60)  wrap it around the sanding block and sand the floor in the direction of the grain. Work your way up to the smoothest grit (200). After sanding you are now ready to add the nail head details. Using the small nail, gently hammer two small indents on each end of every board. ( This was the fun part for me, because it meant that I was almost finished)! Once you are satisfied with the smoothness of your floor remove any debris and prep for waxing. Using your fingers, smooth on small amounts of wax section by section and let set overnight. Buff using a circular motion and a soft cloth. Repeat the waxing process, then sit back and enjoy all of your hard work!

20170117_152015

A close up of the nail head detail. I love how the wax brought out the natural character in the wood.

dscn4506

Now that the floor is finished, the first wall has been put up. I’m ready to make some furniture. 

I’m super excited about the next phase of the ground floor. I’m building my dream kitchen all by hand. I guess I watched too many episodes of Fixer Upper on Netflix because somehow a farmhouse sink ended up in my kitchen island, and I’m even not super crazy about country decor. This will be a mid century/ bohemian/ Scandinavian design.  That’s a mouthful I know, but I think that each element will compliment each other nicely.  Here’s a sneak peek of what’s to come. Hope you enjoyed this tutorial. Please feel free to leave a comment or add pictures of your own project. Cheers!

20170302_123504

How to make this kitchen island up next!

One thought on “Gorgeous Wood Floors for Dollhouses

Leave a Reply

